So, we kinda suck.

Yeah, it’s true.

The truth is, we had some major issues figuring out the later rounds of the tournament, as in, how could we keep the content new and interesting.

We’re still figuring it out, but we’re getting closer to the sequel to our first tourney.

This week is going to be about posting the really awesome content we got from our contributing writers, which didn’t get posted, for which we’re sorry.

First off, we have friend of the blog, Mitch Kaplan aka @selftoken, writing about CCR, Creedence Clearwater Revival.

Tournament blog readers, I’m sorry this piece has taken so long. It isn’t that I don’t want to listen to, read about, or think upon Creedence Clearwater Revival. I chose them because I really enjoy their music and I won’t let you dismiss them! My obstacle is getting myself to start writing. The professional journalist & my spouse, Lisa, was done with the VU entry weeks ago, but I still hope to express myself well to you, if not at all quickly.

I’ve identified why I think CCR is able to compete in this tournament and deserves for you to recognize they’re Great. To start, they draw from blues, country, gospel, and rock and roll roots, clearly celebrating our American musical traditions. They were roots rock before the term existed. Even better, they evoke the sound and subjects of the swamps of the American South, adding to the mythology of the Mississippi River, New Orleans, and the Gulf Coast.

I must assume their music, such as the songs “Have Your Ever Seen the Rain”, “Born on the Bayou”, and “Bad Moon Rising” sound as great to our tournament MCs as they do to me. If not those, we can go on and on listing terrific songs, all of which were released only in a 4 year stretch, 1968-72. You want another impressive 3 song grouping? Sure: “Proud Mary, “Who’ll Stop the Rain”, and “Fortunate Son”. Their music reigned high on the charts, became a staple of Classic Rock radio, has been covered widely (as punk, hard rock, country, alt country, blues, alt rock, neo soul, metal, and perhaps more), and has been covered to legendary effect (Ike & Tina Turner – Proud Mary). They also excelled with the music of others. Since early in this tournament I’ve thought the greatest bands would be those who are able to write their own songs and reinterpret those of other artists equally well.

What could stand in CCR’s way, besides other competing bands? John Fogerty wrote, sang, played lead guitar for, and produced their music as well as managing their affairs. The rest of the band – John’s brother Tom, Stu Cook, and Doug Clifford – pushed for years to be allowed to sing and write songs.  Tom quit CCR after the sixth album, no longer willing to remain under the rule of a prince, if you know what I mean. (If not, start reading this tournament blog from the beginning.) John agreed the other guys could write and sing their own songs on the next album, basically proving to them in front of the world that they weren’t his musical equal. “Mardi Gras” was their final album. Still, people know Tom Fogerty was in the band, and one album was named for Doug “Cosmo” Clifford, so beyond the fact that we’re not going to disqualify them at this point, they may legitimately escape the Prince Rule.

In my previous tourney blog comments, I’ve had fun analogizing the bands as places I might go with friends in a fictional “Musictown”. CCR’s sound makes them a highly-regarded but unpretentious Cajun restaurant. You might say we’re able to pick up a packaged meal just like the restaurant used to make, although the actual place closed before we were born. The food is also only authentic in a honorary way, as the band was actually from CA, which makes them an Eagles that The Dude wouldn’t hate. Wow, when I originally wrote that, I’d forgotten they actually had songs in The Big Lebowski. The Dude loves CCR! What else do you need to know?

I’ll give you 2 last things anyway. In only their 2nd year, CCR was a headliner at Woodstock, playing between The Grateful Dead and The Who. John kept them out of the movie/off the soundtrack because he didn’t think they played well. Lastly, their record label’s owner Saul Zaentz was able to start producing films because of his CCR profits. They’re essentially responsible for the existence of films including “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” and “The Lord of the Rings” trilogy.

Leave a comment